Friday Kick Start

For the Summer Learning Journey I learned how to design a Kiekie. A kiekie is a tongan traditional and culture mat  you wear around your waste like a lava lava. It shows the importance of the beutiful islands of tongan. People often use it in weddings, funerals and many more. Kiekie can be designed into any shape like suns, stars, patterns, lines, swiggles and many more. A kiekie is very important for me because not only is it my culture is celebrates the lovely hearts of tonga. Come and check it out with me.

17 thoughts on “Friday Kick Start

  1. Malo e lelei Marcel,
    The colours and patterns you have used to design your Kiekie are stunning, Faufaua!
    I can also see from the design that you have taken time to create the repeated pattern using your keyboard shortcuts.
    Thank you for including the description and sharing why this is important to you. This helps your readers to connect with you and what you have created and shared. From your description I can imagine what your Kiekie would look like if you were to wear it around your waste too.

    This is an outstanding blog post Marcel which means you get extra points too!

    Malo ‘Aupito,
    Mrs Grant

    1. Faafetai Lava Mrs Grant

      I love making patterns and shapes that relate to my culture. Do you want to learn more about tonga because I can teach you some tongan words. Thank you mrs grant and Im looking forward to more activities. Haere – Ra

  2. kia ora Marcel.
    I’m jasmine I am also doing the Summer learning Journey. I just love the colours are beautiful and so is the design. Why did you chose those colours? I love how detailed your description of what you have done is. It looks like it would have taken you a little while. It makes people want to come check it out because of you saying “come check it out with me” it just makes you sound so much more friendly.
    Kind regards
    Jasmine

    1. Thank You Jasmine

      Kai Pai on doing the Summer Learning Journey Too. You are a awesome comment student who has a kind heart. I chose those colours because they repesent my culture which is tongan. It took a while but I managed to get through it. Thank you jasmine and I am so excited for your next comment.
      Keep up the good work.

      Happy Regards

      Marcel

  3. Kia Ora Marcel, my name is Boston from Foxton Beach School. I absolutely love what you have created it is a masterpiece. The way you’re going you could be the next Leonardo Da Vinci. I love the colours you used on your Ta’ovala/Klekie. You have a good caption of what you created. What shape or pattern is your favourite?

    Boston

    1. Thank you Boston.

      As soon as you said I could be the next Leonardo Da Vinci you made me laugh, I am not a great artist yet but when a grow up I just want to be like him. My favorite shape is circles because they are round and are helpful in many different ways. My favorite pattern has to be squiggley lines because they just look so goofy. Thank you for your comment and a great day. Good Bye.

  4. Kia Ora Marcel,

    I’m Madelyn from St Patrick and I love your Kiekie design! It’s very bright and mesmerizing. I also admire the fact that you put in good effort when creating this masterpiece. This activity makes me want to find out more about Tongan history.

    Keep up the good work! And have a wonderful holiday.

    1. Hello Madelyn.

      Thank you for your kind comment and I have heard some great things about this school. I can’t believe I am talking to a St Patrick Student. What is it like over their, I bet is is awesome. I love making Kiekie’s and I wonder if you like making them too. Maybe I can tell you some tongan history and you can be the new Tongan Scientist. Tjank you for your comment and I am looking forward to your next one. Nofo a

  5. Kia ora Marcel, Swaimah here from Pt England School. I love how you added lots of details and effort towards your Kiekie. All the colors you used for each pattern in increble. I love how you explained what a kiekie is and how it can be made.

    Questions

    Why did you specifically chose those colors?
    Are you tongan yourself?

    Thanks Swaimah <3

    1. Malo e Lei Swaimah.

      I am glad to hear that you like my work. I love seeing Kiekie and I mde one right now. Mine does not look as tongan that much but it stills work out. I chose those colours because they repesent my culture and yes I am tongan. Thank you for your comment and have a great ho ho holiday.

  6. Malo Lelei Marcel,
    I’m Atu from Glenbrae school and your work here is a very nice piece of art and fun fact I am also a Tongan and I always wear a keikei to church and sometimes a ta’ovala if our youth has a skit. Anyways, the patterns you made are really creatvie, keep up the good work!

    1. Talofa Lava Atu

      Thank you for your comment and I can’t believe you are tongan too. My brain says you have been taking your kiekie to church. What pattern does it have on it and also can you speak tongan. Thank you for your comment and have a Great Ho Ho Holiday. 🙂

  7. Nice job Marcel
    I really liked to learn what you learned with summer leaning journey and what you did with it and so I hope to hear more about this, BYE!

  8. Hey there Marcel!,
    I’m Ava from St Francis of Assisi Catholic school. What an interesting and unique design I love the colors you’ve included it really makes it pop! Great Job, I can’t wait to hear more about it.
    -Ava

  9. Hello Marcel.
    I am also doing the summer learning journey tasks.
    I loved how you told us the meanings and your culture.
    The patterns you did were very well made.
    keep up the good work Marcel!

    Hope you do more cool activities like this goodbye!!

  10. Kia ora Marcel.
    I love how you used an ombre effect on the backround, I can really tell you put alot of effort into this design. By the way what is your favorite colour?
    You did an amzing job.
    warm Regards Myah.